Summer no Owari

The summer semester for those of us taking classes at UNP is coming to a close very soon, thus marking the end of our summer as a whole. Although many of my friends are dreading returning to lives of study and social awkwardness, I’m waiting with an inordinate amount of excitement for classes to start. (Ask my mother, who, when I read her the first chapter of my Inorganic textbook last night, responded with, “I’m booooored.”) Still, that doesn’t mean I haven’t enjoyed my summer.

Family Reunion

A few weeks ago, Finn, Fritz and I met up with Junhi for a Big-Happy-Korean-Family reunion. Although Junhi is not living in 500 again this semester, he is living in the same dorm that we all called home last year, so it felt pretty much like being back at school again.

Finn and I drove to UNP early Wednesday morning, and I finished my Orgo II lab without much incident. Then he and I got in my car to seek food, since we had forgone proper nutrition to get to campus on time. A call from Fritz about magical girls and a call to Junhi about our absence later, we were back in Junhi’s dorm room, awaiting instructions as he browsed through subreddits for Blizzard games.

Like I said, same old.

The first problem arose when, after checking us in, Junhi left us for an undetermined length of time to take a test. Not that we were upset about him taking the test—oh no, we were upset that he abandoned us in his room without a way to get out and with explicit instructions to not eat his food.

(Of course, we could have left, but then he would’ve gotten a penalty for not checking us out, and he could’ve gotten his visitation privileges revoked, so…)

In retaliation, Finn made over his computer, which he calls his first-born child.

image
Afterwards, we watched three hours worth of animal videos and slowly lost our minds. Beautiful gems that we stumbled across included this, this, and this.

Junhi did eventually return, after a fiasco Fritz (who couldn’t get into the building or have us meet him outside). Since it was eight or so when he returned, we were all thoroughly starving.

image

A potato from a deli just off campus fixed that, though.

Then we spent the rest of the night watching twenty or so episodes of Hunter x Hunter, which I felt was a productive use of time. (Productive, even though the fight scene we’re watching has been stretched out over fifteen episodes so far.) We finally went to sleep, though, which involved fights over pillows, blankets, and furniture.

The next morning, Junhi made us breakfast.

image

Yes, that is grilled chicken on a stick.

It was good to be home.

Beach

After the family reunion, I went with my dad to the beach to an actual family reunion, where I spent lots of wonderful time with my cousins, sat in the surf for hours, saw dolphins, played with Legos, wrote NaNo on actual paper, witnessed my brother and male cousin wearing dresses, and a whole host of other things. The only thing I have to show for it, though, is a picture I sent Finn the first day we arrived.

image

Yes. That says 申し申し. As in “moshi moshi.” As in, “Moshi moshi, Weeb desu.”

Kill me.

Monday’s Stress Day (Tralalalala)

After returning home, my siblings and I spent a stressful day at home while various members of our family fought with various other members of my family. Thinking food might put us all in a better mood, Katniss and I suggested buying pizza. The box came with a statement that I’ve been telling my mom for the past three years.

image
Right on, Domino’s. Next time my mom yells at me for having really bad phone etiquette, I’ll point her to you. Kay? Kay.

image

Later, we went to Katniss’s cheerleading practice. This picture of Natalia and I was what I sent to Finn to illustrate our current emotional states.

It was all right, though. Food and peppy bow-heads always lighten a mood.

SHARKNADO

Last week, Scout hosted a Sharknado party to celebrate the premier of Sharknado 3. I hadn’t seen more than five minutes of Sharknado 1 or 2, so I didn’t know what I was getting into when I agreed to go.

The food was good, aside from a bag of peanut-butter Cheetos that someone brought (hopefully as a joke, because they caused pain for everyone). I quickly procured a piece of meat pizza, and we stood around the kitchen chatting and talking about Sharknado trivia. Unfortunately, Finn eventually got to my food.

image

He also got to the blackboard hanging on the Van Fleit’s wall.

image
(Yes, that says, “I am the bone of my sword.” [I guess that link has Fate/UBW spoilers?])

The actual movie, however, was… well, it was something.

I’ll just let you watch it yourself. No need to spoil it.


Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for now! I hope everyone’s having a great last few weeks of summer! Enjoy your free time if you have it, but don’t fret! Look forward to school!

Yes, I know that’s stupidly nerdy. Whatever! I do what I waaaaaant!

Let your voice be heard!

