Studying? More like watching Netflix, amirite?

Yesterday, Sapphire, Finn and I went to listen to the Dalai Lama and several neuroscientists talk about neuroplasticity. It was an interesting few hours (that involved several jokes and Bill, who was randomly assigned to the seat beside me, studying for the MCAT), but because it was so early in the morning, we spent the rest of the day, essentially, like zombies.

image

Photographic proof that we were indeed present and somewhat awake. (If you’re good at I-spy, you’ll be able to spot Finn down several rows in a grey cardigan. Sapphire wasn’t yet present, but she ended up on the other side of that general area.)

Afterward, we met up with Scout (who was here for Friday and Saturday), Junhi, Scout’s friend and Scout’s friend’s friends and went to get a late lunch at Chik-fil-a. Our Chik-fil-a, with its bizarre architecture, has what I assume is a “conference room,” and Sapphire, Finn, Fritz and I normally steal it to eat in despite the fact that we barely fill it. This time, we took up every chair. I took a picture and promptly had to explain myself.

image

All of us in the Chik-fil-a introvert room. Finn is in the front, Scout is to the left, Sapphire is hiding behind Scout, Amelia (Scout’s friend) is in the back, one of Amelia’s friends is beside her, and Junhi and the other are hidden behind Finn’s head.

Afterward, Scout, Finn and I drove around town causing antics and shenanigans. We went to a local nerd shop (card, tabletop RPG, video game and thrift shop in one), and then we milled about a Whole Foods while Scout searched for vegan Cheez-its. While there, we found an olive bar.

image

Eventually, though, Scout returned to her college, and Finn and I (as well as Sapphire) went to sleep and didn’t awake until late this morning/early this afternoon.

I awoke and studied animal taxonomy, and then Sapphire, Fritz and I went to get lunch. After returning, I sought the third floor whiteboard and wrote all of the taxonomical information I’ll have to know for Wednesday’s lab test.

image

After writing this, I added, “Future Bio students, good luck.” Sapphire laughed and added, “Past students, congratulations!” Then Sapphire and I returned to our room, where we ate giant marshmallows, studied chemistry, and watched The Mentalist.

All that, and it’s not even midnight yet.

(Watching TV and studying together is a bad idea, you say? Whatever, we do what we want!)

Let your voice be heard!

